GMS thinclads open in Worland

by nathan oster

Greybull Middle School enters its first track meet of the spring on Saturday in Worland with a new head coach, Renae Waddell, and a roster of 55, which includes 22 eighth graders, 16 seventh graders and 16 sixth graders.

The triangular meet, where GMS will compete against athletes from Worland and Thermopolis, starts at 9 a.m.

Practice began March 19, and already, Waddell said she is seeing the makings of “a very dedicated team” of athletes.  “They’ve been working really hard and trying to improve themselves every night,” she said. “We did something a little bit differently this year in that I had them all try each event, so I think some of them have opened their minds to trying different events they normally would not have considered.”

Waddell is being assisted this season by Marty Wrage, Jeff Hunt and a volunteer assistant in Heather Thon, who has been student teaching in her classroom this spring.

The team will compete in six meets, including the Easter Bunny Classic, which is the only competition scheduled for the Greybull track.  That meet will be held Thursday, April 5 starting at 4 p.m.

“My goal for the season is to see these athletes experience success in their events using the appropriate form depending on the event,” Waddell said. “For example, we’re requiring the sprinters to learn to use the blocks and our throwers are learning to do the spin in disc and the glide in shot. I would really like to see our numbers transfer into the high school program.”

The team’s roster is as follows:


SIXTH GRADERS — Evelyn Clayton, Jazmyne Collingwood, Kristen Collingwood, Kyla Hutchins, Hailee Neilson, Brittany Ogg, Josalyn Smith, Briana Winstead, Skyler Wrage, Jose Araiza, Edvardo Burgos, Brian Castro, Morgan Dowling, Miguel Gomez, Riley Hill, Russell Mitchell, Mason Werbelow.

SEVENTH GRADERS — Marisela Burgos, Jordan Flitner, Hannah Good, Skylar Grant, Alyssa Hueckstaedt, Emma Hunt, KieAnna Ridgway, Beckie Turner, Cade Dooley, Dawson Forcella, Dustin Fox, Jake Harrold, Caleb Robertson, Mason Stebner, Clancy Stoffers, Dante Sylvester.

EIGHTH GRADERS — Karla Corral, Aftin DeRosa, Jessica Dowling, Lupe Gallegos, Tiffany Hueckstaedt, Jazmin Jara, Brianna Jolley, Hailey Lovell, Gracie Mendez, Andi Petsch, Florina Villegas, Ashley Winstead, Luis Burgos, Jose Carmona, Kyle Collingwood, Richard Herchkorn, Brad Johnson, Tristian McMillen, Kevin Sample, Cesar Sosa, Treston Tracy, Zack Zeller.