Filing for special districts begins Wednesday

by nathan oster
Candidates can begin filing Wednesday, Aug. 8 for a number of special district seats that will be up for grabs in the November general election.
The filing period closes Monday, Aug. 27.
A proclamation from the office of Big Horn County Clerk Dori Noyes provides an overview of what seats are open on each of the respective boards.
School board candidates can file for election at the courthouse; for the rest of the seats, candidates can file with the secretary of each of the respective districts.

School Board
Three seats on the Big Horn County School District No. 3 board of education are set to expire this year, including those currently held by Steve Hoblit, Dale Nuttall and Selena Brown (who was appointed to complete the term of Darcie Wisehart).
The top three vote-getters in the November general election will join holdovers Dave Haller, Mike Meredith, Jamie Flitner and Jean Petty, whose terms expire in 2014.

Hospital Board
For South Big Horn County Hospital Board, three seats are up this year. Bill Burbridge, Diana Elliott and Jack Preston are the current occupiers of those seats.
Each carries a four year term.
The top three vote-getters will join Sue Antley and Dalin Winters, whose terms expire in 2014.

Conservation district
The terms that are up this year on the South Big Horn Conservation District are currently held by Linda Hamilton, who is serving as chairman of the board, and Walter Hibbert, who is the vice chairman. The winners of the seats will join George Kelso, Nancy Joyce and Ted Zier to round out the five-person board.

Senior Center
All five seats are expiring on the South Senior Citizen Service District, which oversees the South Big Horn Senior Center in Greybull.
The board currently consists of Norma Bennett, Stanley Graham, Shirley Dahlberg, Linda Moser and Joe Sylvester.
Each new term will be for two years.

Cemetery Districts
Voters will be asked to fill seats on the board of directors of several cemetery districts, including those in Emblem and Greybull.
There will be three openings on the Emblem cemetery board, each carrying a four-year term. Those seats are currently held by Karen Preis, Julie Werbelow and Sue Coguill.
The South Central Special Cemetery District, which oversees the Donald J. Ruhl Memorial Cemetery in Greybull, has three seats coming up for re-election this year. Those seats are now held by Bob Hawkins, Kelli Hoblit and Michelle Burns.