Eighteen vie for commissioner seat

by karla pomeroy

Eighteen Republicans have put their name in hoping to be appointed as the next Big Horn County commissioner.

The vacancy for the late Thomas “Scotty” Hinman, will be filled by official appointment from the commissioners but first the Big Horn County Republican Central Committee must narrow the list to three candidates to submit to the commissioners.

The candidates are Linda Harp, Fred Willert, John Hyde, Michael Scherman, James Szlemko, Monte Lewis, Heath Hopkin, Lisa Kimsey, Richard Russell, Michael Riley, Bill Burbridge, Selena Brown, Barbara Anne Greene, David Banks, Felix Carrizales, Robert Kampbell, Stanley Jones and Joe Wildman.

Each applicant will meet with the Big Horn County Republican Central Committee at 7 p.m. tonight (Thursday) at the Big Horn County Weed and Pest meeting room.

The applicants will be sequesters and then a question committee will ask each applicant the same set of questions. Applicants will also be provided an opportunity for a three-minute summary.

Precinct committee people will also have an opportunity to ask questions.

The Big Horn County commissioners, expecting the names of the three candidates to be submitted to them on Friday, will set up interviews for the three finalists on Monday, March 13.