Elks distribute $12,600 in scholarships

by nathan oster

Local students walked away from a dinner ceremony Friday night with more than $12,600 in scholarship money, courtesy of the Greybull Elks Lodge.

Scholarship recipients this year included:

• Daniel Davison of Burlington, who won the Elks National Foundation Most Valuable Student Award.  The scholarship is worth $4,000 — with four annual distributions of $1,000.

• Emily Jones of Burlington, who won an Elks National Foundation allocated $1,000 scholarship award.

• Amantha Robertson of Riverside, who won a $600 local scholarship from the Greybull Elks Lodge.

• Luke Zeller and Michaela Denniston, both of Greybull and both recipients of $500 scholarship awards from the Jerry Schmer family.

• Holly Huber of Greybull, who earned a $1,000 Wyoming Elks National Foundation vocational scholarship award.

• Sarah Bockman of Greybull, recipient of an Elks National Foundation allocated $1,000 scholarship award as well as a $4,000 Elks National Foundation Legacy Award that pays out $1,000 annually.

• Wyatt Good, who is in line to receive an Elks National Foundation Emergency Education Grant.  This grant was established to help families of deceased Elks Club members. Wyatt’s dad Chris, who died Aug. 31, 2008, was a member of the Greybull Elks Lodge.