Carlson, Powers, Stephens named all-conference

by marlys good

Three Greybull Lady Buffs, Ceirra Carlson, McKenna Powers and Brett Stephens, have been named to the Class 2A All-Northwest Conference volleyball team.

Coach Sara Schlattmann, who was honored by her coaching peers as the Northwest Conference coach of the year, said she was excited for her three standouts.

“Brett, Ceirra and McKenna are very deserving of the honor. The three have led most of the statistical categories throughout the year and are our floor leaders. Each played a very unique and different role for us. Brett was the vocal leader on the floor and did a great job of directing the offense.” A two-year starter, Stephens was credited for her hard work in the off-season that Schlattman said “paid off for her. She will be asked to lead our team again next year.”

Powers, a three-year starter for the Buffs and two year all-conference selection, “was our big middle hitter. She had an amazing season and has improved 200 percent from the first time she stepped on the floor in high school until now. She was scrappy and just the hardest worker; she always finished her conditioning drills first.”

Schlattmann said Carlson, a four-year starter, led the team in kills and passing and worked tirelessly each year and throughout the summer to  improve. “Again, as I compare Ceirra now to where she was when she entered our program, it is amazing to see the growth. She had certainly left her mark. It was also a great honor for her to be selected to the all-state team, particularly since we were not at the state tournament.”

The three Buffs were joined on the all-conference team by Staci Dellos of Riverside; Mercedes Heney, Chayli McArthur, Emilee Reasch and Lauren Hinckley of Lovell; Haylee Hoffman, Sierra Schmidt and Kayla Lofink of Thermopolis and Haley Strom, Hannah Winland and Shauna Loman of Rocky Mountain.

Reasch was honored as the Player of the Year.

Schlattmann said she appreciated “that the other coaches chose me, and I was quite surprised. To be honest, I think the honor was more deserving of someone else. I am really lucky to have inherited a good program and a great, hardworking and dedicated group of girls. They are certainly the reason I was given this honor and I am very proud of them.”