Graham, Foley among early town filers

by nathan oster

Greybull will have a race for mayor this fall after both Bob Graham and Myles Foley officially filed their paperwork with the town in the first few days of the filing period.

Both men are currently on the council. Graham has spent the past two years as mayor after being appointed to replace Frank Houk, who stepped down midway through his term.

Foley is midway through a four-year term on the council. If he is unsuccessful in his bid to become mayor, he would remain on the council in his present position.

Two seats on the council are also up for election this year.

Incumbents Bob McGuire and Ross Jorgensen haven’t publicly declared their intentions and neither of them filed in the first few days of the filing period.

As of Monday at noon, only Harry Richard Capen had filed for council.

Filing for the three municipal seats will continue through the end of the business day Friday, May 30 at Town Hall.

As for the county seats, all of the Republican incumbents have filed for re-election. That includes Sheriff Ken Blackburn, Attorney Michelle Burns, Assessor Gina Anderson, Clerk of the District Court Dori Noyes, Clerk Lori Smallwood and Commissioners Keith Grant and John Hyde.

Kim Adams of Shell is the only non-incumbent who has filed. She is challenging Burns for the Republican nomination for county attorney.