Incumbents rule in school board race

by nathan oster

Incumbents held sway in the race for four seats on the Big Horn County School District No. 3 board of trustees.

Cheri Edeler, Jamie Flitner and Eddie Johnson, all of whom currently sit on the board, easily won new four-year terms in Tuesday’s general election. Dave Haller, a former board member, won the other open seat.

Edeler led the six-way race with 758 votes. An appointee now completing the term of Jean Petty, Edeler was the top vote-getter in all three of the district’s primary precincts, polling 595 votes in Greybull, 139 in Shell and 24 in Emblem.

Jamie Flitner ran a strong second across the district, finishing with 683 votes.

Eddie Johnson finished third with 645 votes, followed in fourth by Dave Haller with 643.

Mike Wirtzberger, with 415 votes, and John Fuller, with 312, rounded out the field.

The top four vote-getters will join the trio of Steve Hoblit, Dale Nuttall and Selena Brown on the governing body of the school district. The three holdovers have two years remaining on their present terms.