Rodeo kind to leaders of circuit standings

by nathan oster

Several cowboys and cowgirls who are among the leaders in the Big Horn Rodeo Circuit did nothing to hurt their cause at this year’s Big Horn County Fair rodeo held Saturday night in Basin.

T.J. Willis, Zane Fitzgerald, Tyler Collingwood, Paige Flom and Donna Daniels — all of whom ranked among the top three in individual events at this time last week — all walked away from Saturday night’s rodeo with prize money.

Willis was the only bareback rider to post a score, finishing second with a score of 60.

Ditto Pablo Good in the calf roping. His time of 18.44 was the only one posted this year, as the other three calf ropers came up empty.

Colt Charlson, with a 66, won the saddle bronc, followed by Shawn Shepperson, who posted a 57.

Fitzgerald was the only rider to post a score in the steers, as his 58 stood up for first place.

Collingwood dominated the junior breakaway, finishing in 7.22 seconds. He was the only one of the 10 ropers to post a time.

Dusty Willis won the junior barrels, finishing in 17.51. She was followed by Flom, 18.51; Tiny Washakie, 18.69, and Josie Steed, 18.71.

Less than a second separated the top four finishers in the women’s barrel racing. Jennifer Lewis won it with a 17.61, Shannon Hill was second with an 18.04, Sarah Taylor third with an 18.17 and Daniels fourth with an 18.23.

Taylor Holmes and Keith Holmes won the team roping with a time of 8.02. Scott Collingwood and Shawn Billy were second in 9.52, followed by Casey Good-Shawn Billy with a 9.74 and Sam Good-Willy Gould with a 10.12.

Dirty Murph and the Boys, including Spencer Redland, Marshall Gibbs and Grant Kimsey, won the wild horse race.

There were no winners in either the women’s breakaway or the bull riding. Prize money will be held over for the 2016 rodeo.