Buffs reap rewards of successful season

by nathan oster

With eight all-conference selections, four more who made all-state and three players who caught the eyes of the state’s largest weekly newspaper, you could say that the Greybull Buffs got their just due for their success on the football field this fall.

The Buffs finished the season with an 8-2 record, losing only once in the regular season — in a Week 8 tussle against Lovell — and then in the semifinals to a senior-laden Wheatland team that went on to capture the 2A state championship.

The all-conference and all-state teams were released Monday by the Wyoming Coaches Association.



Seniors Lane Nielsen and Jordan Jackson and juniors Dawson Forcella and Gabe Keisel represented Greybull on the 2A all-state team.

Joining them on that team were Brice Beisher, Nolan McCafferty and Colton Williams of Big Horn; J.D. Fear of Big Piney; Klayton Clark of Burns; Alec Arnold, Logan Downs, Cooper Fargen, Dillon Farley, Elijah Stewart and Garrett Schwindt of Glenrock; Brayden Sumsion of Kemmerer; Jaret Collins, Konner Davis, Beau Green and Nick Haskel of Lovell; Ryker Bess, Bryton Bluemel and Austin Guymon of Lyman; Dusty Iorg, Kale Iorg and Jason Stoddard of Mountain View; Triston Robertson of Newcastle; Caleb Rainey of Pinedale; Cody Bjorhus, Tyler Cornwell and Eric Herold of Thermopolis; Justin Borton, Josh Calvert, Daniel Chesser, Preston Gunter, Josh Madsen, Kyle Pollock, Jacob Ward and Nathan Willis of Wheatland; and Hudson Jones of Wright.



To the victors go the spoils when it comes to all-conference selections.

Lovell, the West Conference champion, put nine players on the first team, including seniors Merrill Beck, Konner Davis, Beau Green and Nick Haskell as well as juniors Riley Abraham, Jaret Collins, Trace Murphey, Brandon Teter and Tyler Teter.

The Buffs, who placed second, were right behind with eight first-teamers, including seniors Jackson and Nielsen, juniors Cade Dooley, Elias Ewen, Dawson Forcella, Gabe Keisel and Dawson McEwan and sophomore Riley Hill.

In addition to those eight, the Buffs also had six others who made the second team, including seniors Jose Carmona, Erick Vicencio and Luis Burgos, sophomores Miguel Gomez and Brayan Castro and freshman Zack Keisel.

Mountain View put seven players on the team, including seniors Dusty Iorg and Kale Iorg, juniors Caden Bolken, Dane Covington, Keagan Genzer and Spencer Madsen and sophomore Jason Stoddard.

Rounding out the first team were Ryker Bess, Bryton Bluemel, Devin Fenus, Austin Guymon, Colter Hadden and Preston Quinney of Lyman; J.D. Fear, Justis Fisher, Adam Raza, William Shafer and Josh Willoughby of Big Piney; Micah Brown, Spencer Criddle, Dawson Hoover and Caleb Raney; Taylor Chapin, Dylan McCLoud and Brayden Sumsion of Kemmerer.

Wrage shared conference coach of the year honors with Lovell’s Doug Hazen.

Mountain View’s Iorg was the defensive player of the year.

Jaret Collins of Lovell was the lineman of the year in the conference.

Offensive player of the year honors went to Caleb Rainey of Pinedale.


Super 25s

Each year the sports staff of the Casper Star-Tribune select the top 25 players, regardless of classification, in the state of Wyoming. Calder Forcella made the team last year for the Buffs, and while no member of this year’s squad made the first team, three did earn a mention on the third team. Among them were Dawson Forcella, Calder’s brother, as well as Riley Hill, a sophomore, and Zack Keisel, a freshman.


Academic All-Staters

The WCA also recognized those student-athletes whose successes extended beyond the football field and into the classroom, where they maintain GPAs of 3.5 and higher.

GHS players who made academic all-state included Korbin Adams, Eduardo Burgos, Dawson Forcella, Gage Hunt, Brayan Castro, Zack Keisel, Riley Hill and Gabe Keisel; and managers Meghan Taylor and Ashlyn Ewen.