Filing for special district seats begins Wednesday

by nathan oster

Candidates can begin filing Wednesday, Aug. 10 for a number of special district seats that will be up for grabs in the November general election.

The filing period closes Monday, Aug. 29.

School board candidates can file for election at the courthouse; for the rest of the seats, candidates can file with the secretary of each of the respective districts.


School Board

Four seats on the Big Horn County School District No. 3 board of education are set to expire this year, including those currently held by Steve Hoblit, Dale Nuttall and Bette Rae Jones (who is completing the term of Selena Brown), as well as the one held by Mike Wirtzberger, who was appointed to the school board.

Three of the four vacant seats are for four-year terms, while the fourth is a two-year term. The top vote-getters in November will join board holdovers Eddie Johnson, Jamie Flitner and Cheri Edeler, whose terms expire in 2018.


Hospital Board

For South Big Horn County Hospital Board, three seats are up this year. Bill Burbridge, Diana Elliott and Todd Denny are the current occupiers of those seats. Each of the seats carries a four-year term.


Conservation district

The terms that are up this year on the South Big Horn Conservation District are currently held by rural supervisors Linda Hamilton and Walter Hibbert.


Senior Center

All five seats are expiring on the South Senior Citizen Service District, which oversees the South Big Horn Senior Center in Greybull.

The current occupiers of those seats are Tom Goton, Jr., Kristy Bonnell-Phillips, Judy Jordan, Joe Sylvester and Walt Rivers. The terms run for two years.


Cemetery Districts

Voters will be asked to fill seats on the board of directors of several cemetery districts, including those in Emblem and Greybull.

There will be three openings on the Emblem cemetery board, each carrying a four-year term. Those seats are currently held by Karen Preis, Julie Werbelow and Sue Coguill.

The South Central Special Cemetery District, which oversees the Donald J. Ruhl Memorial Cemetery in Greybull, has three seats coming up for re-election this year. They now belong to Jan Johnson, Michelle Burns and Bob Hawkins.