Remember to vote on Tuesday

by nathan oster

After months on the campaign trail, decision day looms for candidates for elected office across the state of Wyoming. The primary election is Tuesday, Aug. 16. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

This year in Wyoming, there are four major party ballots, including the Republican, Democratic, Libertarian and Constitution parties. For each, it’s a nominating election, one that will set the races for the November general election.

While there are a number of Constitution and Libertarian candidates who are running unopposed for their party’s nomination, there are contested races on the Republican, Democratic and nonpartisan sides.

On the Republican ballot, Rich Fink, Chuck Hopkin, Nick Lewis, Dave Neves and Deb Craft are vying for the Big Horn County Commission. The winner of Tuesday’s primary will likely square off against Stanley Jones, the Constitution party candidate, in the general election.

In the race to succeed Elaine Harve in House District 26, Republican voters will select from a pool that includes Jamie Flitner, Tim Mills and Phil Abromats, while Jean Petty and Joyce Collins are running unopposed for the Democratic and Constitution nominations, respectively.

For the U.S. House of Representatives, there are 12 total candidates — eight from the Republican party, two from the Democratic party, and one each from the Libertarian and Constitution parties.

The Republicans in the race include Jason Senteney, Darin Smith, Tim Stubson, Heath Beaudry, Liz Cheney, Leland Christensen, Mike Konsmo and Paul Paad.

Ryan Greene and Charlie Hardy are running on the Democratic ballot, while Lawrence Gerard Struempf and Daniel Clyde Cummings are running unopposed on the Libertarian and Constitution ballots.

It’s also a local election year. Three seats are up on the Greybull Town Council — and the incumbents, Marquerite Van Dyke, Clay Collingwod and Marvin Hunt, were the only filers and are running unopposed. Van Dyke and Collingwood filed for the four-year seats, while Hunt filed for the two-year seat.