Nine candidates file for school board

by nathan oster

A flurry of last-minute filing activity has set the stage for a very competitive school board election this fall in Greybull.

There are four seats up for election this year in Big Horn County School District No. 3 — three of them are four-year terms, the fourth is a two-year term. Steve Hoblit and Dale Nuttall were not among the nine filers, so they will see their terms come to an end later this year.

However, Mike Wirtzberger and Bette Rae Jones, both of whom currently sit on the school board, did throw their hats in the ring for the four-year terms. Both have been appointed to fill vacancies since the school board election in 2014. Wirtzberger and Jones will be joined in the race for the four-year seats this year by Mike Whaley, Joe Sylvester, Ron Reesy and Todd Dalin.

Filers for the two-year term included Carla Scharen, Michelle Brown and Ted Menke.

The top four vote-getters in November will join Jamie Flitner, Cheri Edeler and Eddie Johnson, whose terms expire in 2018.


Hospital board

For South Big Horn County Hospital District, there are five filers for three seats.

Diana Elliott is not seeking re-election, but the two other incumbents, Todd Denny and Bill Burbridge, are in the field. Joining them are Lisa Reesy, Homer Richard Burton and Margie Triplett.


Other filings

Paul Murdoch and Diana Anders filed for the four-year terms and Lawrence Griffin filed for the two-year term on the South Big Horn County Rural Health Board.

Incumbents were the only filers for the cemetery board seats that are up this year. Bob Hawkins, Michelle Burns and Jan Johnson filed for South Central Big Horn County Special Cemetery District and Sue Coguil, Julie Preis and Karen Preis filed for Emblem Cemetery District.

The same is true for the South Big Horn Conservation District, where incumbents Linda Hamilton and Walt Hibbert were the only filers.

Four of the five incumbents on the South Big Horn Senior Citizens Service District are seeking reelection, including Walter Rivers, Judy Jordan, Joe Sylvester and Kristi Bonnel-Phillips. The other incumbent, Tom Goton Jr., did not file for reelection. Barbara Anne Greene, did, however, making it five candidates for five positions.