Special district races set for general election

by nathan oster

The filing period for special district seats to be elected in the November general election officially slammed shut with the close of the business day on Tuesday, Aug. 28.

The races are now set for school board, hospital district, cemetery district, rural health care district and conservation district leadership positions.

Eight candidates will be vying for four, four-year terms and one, two-year term on the Big Horn County School District No. 3 board of trustees.

Filers for the four-year terms included Mike Wirtzberger, Mike Whaley, Ted Menke, Lynette Murray and Cindi Stanzione.

Tracy Haley, Michelle Brown and Bekki Benasky will vie for the two-year term.

Wirtzberger, Menke, Murray and Brown are currently serving on the board, the latter two being recent appointments.  The only trustee up for election this year who didn’t file was Eddie Johnson.

For South Big Horn County Hospital District, Connie Werbelow and Mary Watts filed for the four-year terms and Michael McColloch and Stephen Naso filed for the two-year seat.

Filers for South Senior Citizens Service District included Barbara Anne Greene and Tom Goton, Jr., for the four-year seats and Walt Rivers, Judy Jordan and Kristi Bonnel-Phillips for the two-year seats.

For Big Horn County Rural Health Care District, Russell Fowler, Ken Nelson and Laura Huber filed for four-year terms and Deb Rathbun and Stephen Naso filed for two-year terms.

Turning to the cemetery districts, filers for four-year seats on the South Central Special district which oversees the Donald J. Ruhl Memorial Cemetery included Scott McColloch, Michael McCoy and Kaitlyn Johnson.

Chris Edwards and George Kelso filed for four-year terms on the Emblem Cemetery District.

For South Big Horn Conservation District, Howard Wildman filed for the four-year at large position, George Kelso filed for the four-year rural position and no one filed for the four-year urban term.