Graham, Hoblit and Johnson enter town races

by nathan oster

The field of candidates has yet to be finalized, but it’s already a sure thing that there will be races for Greybull mayor and town council on the November general election ballot.

Bob Graham, who received the most write-in votes for both mayor and council, informed the Big Horn County Clerk’s office last week that he would be accepting the write-in nomination for a two-year term as mayor.

He’ll face incumbent Myles Foley in the general election.

It’ll be a rematch of the 2014 mayor’s race, which Foley won by five votes 311-306.

For council, incumbent Marvin Hunt was the only candidate who filed for the two expiring four-year terms.  Two write-in candidates, Kaitlyn Johnson and Steve Hoblit, have entered the race already, and a third, Darrell Cariveau, is currently weighing whether to join them.

Johnson received 14 write-ins, Hoblit seven and Cariveau five.

With two seats to be filled, as many as four candidates could appear on the general election ballot in November.

The winning candidates will join current council members Clay Collingwood and Marquerite VanDyke, both of whom have two years remaining on their terms.