Eight Buffs earn all-conference selections

The Greybull Buffs were well represented on the all-conference and all-state teams that were announced late last week, putting eight on the former and three on the latter in addition to have a Super 25 player in Zack Keisel.

Greybull made the playoffs for the fifth consecutive season, finishing 5-4 overall and 4-2 in the Class 2A West Conference.  Mountain View, which won the West, saw nine of its players earn all-conference honors: Colby Rees, Briggin Bluemel, Hunter Gross, Braeden Walk, Kimball Madsen, Breckin Barnes, Hunter Meeks, Tyson Condos, Ashton Schofield.

Greybull’s all-conference selections included Zack Keisel, Brock Hill, Dade Greene, JeCorey Qualls, Felipe Gaytan, Ben Kraft, Abraham Mendez and Gerardo Corral.

Keisel finished among the top 10 in 2A in rushing, all-purpose yards, scoring and defensive points.  A four-year starter for the Buffs, Keisel “was the defensive quarterback, making the calls and making the reads,” said Coach Eli Moody. “All year, if we needed something big — a big stop on defense or a couple of yards on offense — we looked to him to provide it.

“He was the motor of our team and it was nice to see him recognized.”

Moody raved about Hill’s football IQ, noting that he “understood the flows of the game, what needed to be done, and was solid on both sides of the ball.” The starting quarterback, he ranked second in 2A in passing yardage.

Greene was the starting center and an anchor of the defensive line.  “Not super loud or flashy, he took every meaningful snap of varsity this year,” said Moody, adding that he was also on the field 95 percent of the time on defense. “He just did what needed to be done,” said Moody.

Qualls had “an up and down” season, but certainly ended on a high note, playing “at an all-state level” for the final three contests of the season. “He was definitely our vocal leader, the one trying to get everyone else hyped up.  Once he settled into his positions, he had some great games.”

Gaytan and Kraft fall into the same category, as both suffered season-ending injuries down the stretch.  Gaytan went down in the Lovell game.  If he hadn’t, Gaytan would have been “a top five receiver and a top two cornerback” in all of 2A, according to his coach. “He was having a great season.”

The same applies for Kraft, whose absence was definitely felt in the playoff loss to Wheatland. Kraft started the first several games on the offensive line before making the switch to and excelling as a blocking back.  “We could put him anywhere on the field,” said Moody. “He was a hard worker; not a lot of flash, just a guy who did his job.”

Mendez “started out mostly as a defensive guy, and not playing much offense, but worked his butt off all season and became a two-way starter,” said Moody. “He’s not the biggest, strongest or fastest but he put himself in good spots and the effort was always there.  He was always going to work hard enough to make an impact on the game.”

Moody echoed those comments when talking about Corral, a player who “worked his butt off, played fast, hit hard, read the play very well and was the best pulling offensive linemen that we have.  He missed two or three games; if he doesn’t, he’s probably an all-stater too.”

In addition to the eight first-teamer, the Buffs also had Elian Davila, Caleb Bottom, James Robertson, Gage Hunt and Calvin Farrow named to the second team.

Rounding out the all-conference squad were Asencion Pelham, Justin Seemann, Tanner Hansen, Lincoln Long, Kaden Raza, Calder Taylor and Tate Hughes of Big Piney; Hayden Walker, Jeydon Boyd, AQ Martinez, Lowell Ellis, Josh Thatcher and Dawson Schramm of Kemmerer; Joey McCulloch, Sam White, Tyler VanEtten, Kadar Criddle and Jose Vega of Pinedale; Jacob Woodland, Brendan Martin, Carson Ellis and Hansen Bradshaw of Lyman and Kaleb Snyder, Kurt McNabb and Kerry Powell of Lovell.

All-State 2A Team

Keisel, Hill and Greene were also named to the all-state team in 2A.

Joining them on that squad were the following players:

BUFFALO: Luke Glassock, Aaron Thiele, Cody Milmine, Rowen Ruby, Hunter Pope, Dawson Hatch, Nathan Swanston, Hyrum Hatch.

MOUNTAIN VIEW: Colby Rees, Briggin Bluemel, Hunter Gross, Braeden Walk, Kimball Madsen, Breckin Barnes.

WHEATLAND: Colton Caves, Wyatt Crane, Clayton Iacovetto, Daniel Hutchins.

GLENROCK: Ian Arnold, Tucker Bopp, Brysen Collier, Payton Steinmetz.

THERMOPOLIS: Chandler Maddock, Logan Cole, Jon Harvey.

BIG PINEY: Asencion Pelham, Justin Seemann, Tanner Hansen.

KEMMERER: Hayden Walker, Jeydon Boyd, AQ Martinez.

LYMAN: Jacob Woodland.

PINEDALE: Joey McCulloch.

LOVELL: Kaleb Snyder.

BURNS: Boe Clayson.

MOORCROFT: Rowdy Pfeil.

NEWCASTLE: Sawyer Roberson.

Super 25

Keisel became the fourth Greybull player in the past five years to make the Casper Star-Tribune’s Super 25, which honors the best high school football players in the state, regardless of position or school classification.

Calder Forcella (2014), Dawson Forcella (2016) and Riley Hill (2017) were the other Buffs who made the Super 25 during this stellar five-year run of playoff experiences for the Greybull football program.